Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Touch Me!

No big surprises here really, except I suspect that I rank lower on Receiving Gifts than most women do. Maybe that's why for all the flowers and cards W sent me it couldn't make up for the hugs and kisses that didn't occur and the massive amounts of time he spent down the hall in front of the computer instead of with me.

The Five Love Languages

My primary love languages are probably
Physical Touch and Quality Time.

Complete set of results

Physical Touch: 10
Quality Time: 10
Words of Affirmation: 5
Acts of Service: 4
Receiving Gifts: 1


Unhappiness in relationships, according to Dr. Gary Chapman, is often due to the fact that we speak different love languages. Sometimes we don't understand our partner's requirements, or even our own. We all have a "love tank" that needs to be filled in order for us to express love to others, but there are different means by which our tank can be filled, and there are different ways that we can express love to others.

Take the quiz


Bunny said...

We did the Love Languages tests as part of counseling. I am a Physical Touch and Words of Affirmation. Spousehole then used that knowledge to withhold exactly what he knew I needed. It wasn't terribly helpful.

I learned that he is an Acts of Service and Words of Affirmation. I have tried to provide those to him, but it's been hard. Words of Affirmation come easily, so that's not a problem. It's just that the acts of service that interest me are not the ones he wants. He wants a clean house, I'd rather cook a fabulous dinner. Or "service" him, if you know what I mean ;) Though there was hot monkey loving (and desire on his part for hot monkey loving when it wasn't practical with his roommate there), so I'm trying not to complain so much.

You and I are the same on the gift thing. I've never gotten that one. I understand that the "gifts" don't have to be purchased things for people who score high on that one, but it's still outside my realm of understanding. I think you had to have had someone in your life who showed affection via gifts, and likely only via gifts, as a child to end up scoring high on this as an adult. Or not. IDK!

Buttafly32681 said...

i left you an award- come check me out!

Fusion said...

Your primary love language is probably
Physical Touch
with a secondary love language being
Words of Affirmation.

Complete set of results
Physical Touch: 11
Words of Affirmation: 7
Acts of Service: 5
Quality Time: 4
Receiving Gifts: 3

PS. I noticed someone from Red Deer came looking at your blog just before I did... hmmm

Trueself said...

Bunny - Wow, Spousehole used it against you? I continue to be surprised that you stay with him.

Buttafly - Thanks! I'm flattered.

Fuse - Wow, somebody actually scored higher than me on Physical Touch!

P.S. Yeah, I'm popular worldwide.

Val said...

Yech, sorry, I can't subject myself to another one of THOSE quizzes! (actually P brought home the book some time back & guess what? I scored highest in Physical Touch)
As Bunny mentioned, I think he now uses that knowledge against me [heavy sigh]...

Trueself said...

Val - What is with these men to use that kind of knowledge against the women they supposedly love? Sheesh. . .